70% of women and 40% of men have low iron

Options

Replies

• kimny72
    kimny72 Posts: 16,013 Member
    edited October 2016
    Options
    Just because your iron levels are occasionally too low to donate blood doesn't mean you have an unhealthy iron level that needs to be supplemented. It just means your iron level is too low to donate blood. Your iron level can be in the normal range, but still too low to donate.

And also as someone else mentioned, those deficiency numbers are worldwide, meaning they include areas of the world struggling with famine, food shortages, and areas where women don't necessarily have access to a balanced diet. I couldn't Google anything definitive quickly, but it looks like in the US it is more like 10-15% of women, not 70%.

For my n=1, I am a petite female who eats a pretty standard diet and doesn't take a multi, and I have been donating blood and platelets for about 10 years. I was twice told by the mobile donation van that my iron was too low, but otherwise it has been fine and my regular donation center actually questioned the results the mobile van came up with as they were so outside my norm.

If you are concerned about your iron level, consult your doctor before you do anything, as iron supplementation can be tricky and not something to do if you don't really need to!
  • rainbowbow
    rainbowbow Posts: 7,490 Member
    edited October 2016
    Options

kimny72 wrote: »
    Just because your iron levels are occasionally too low to donate blood doesn't mean you have an unhealthy iron level that needs to be supplemented. It just means your iron level is too low to donate blood. Your iron level can be in the normal range, but still too low to donate.