How to start fasting

Options
I would like to start fasting until 10 or 11 am (to begin with), but I don't know where to start. While reading threads on fasting I've noticed that people who fast don't snack as much during the day. It's something that I think will be sustainable for me. I am a teacher and work from 9 am- 4 pm. I usually eat breakfast between 7:30-8:00. Lunch is at 12, but i can sneak a snack of almonds or some type of bar around 10 or 11. I don't know if I will last til 12 but that is my ultimate goal. So I have a few questions.

1. How long does it take your body to get used to not eating until later in the day?
2. What are the side effects when you first start? I will probably start next Saturday so I can keep tabs on how I feel.
3. Is there anything you can eat/drink during your fasting period? Water? Tea?
4. What other benefits are there to fasting?
5. Should I exercise during my fast in the beginning?

Thanks

Replies

• Alatariel75
    Alatariel75 Posts: 17,959 Member
    Options
    I fast until 11 or so, other than green tea and black coffee. I can't say how long it took to get used to it because it wasn't a conscious choice, I'm just happy to not eat before then and find that making myself have breakfast makes me run out of calories earlier in the day.

I don't think there are side effects per se, you might be hungry but you're not fasting long enough to get weak or wobbly or anything unless you have an underlying health issue.

For me the main benefit is that I get to eat all my calories in a smaller window, which means bigger, bulkier meals, which I like.

Exercise if you want to - personally I'm not a morning exerciser, but that's a personal thing. Again, you're not fasting for a long period of time, so you shouldn't be too weak to exercise or anything..
  • malibu927
    malibu927 Posts: 17,565 Member
    Options
    This might be a good place for you to get your answers: http://community.myfitnesspal.com/en/group/49-intermittent-fasting