Indoor rowers?

Options
CafeRacer808 and I were just talking about indoor rowing in the big NSV thread, and it got me wondering if there are any more of us on here.

I've always wanted to row on the water, but could never seem to make it happen. I could, however, hop on the erg at the Y whenever the mood struck. I've been training seriously for about 3 months for the CRASH-B race in Boston in February. I've signed up for a few sessions with a local coach and she's helped me with my form tremendously and has written an aggressive training schedule. My goal is to hit midpack in my age group (which seems to be where I hit in EVERY sport I've ever done -- running, biking, swimming, etc.). I'm in the Senior Heavyweight Women group, which means my midpack goal is 8:23 for the 2k. My personal best right now is 8:33, so I have two months to shave off 10 seconds. So I think I can do it, if I keep up the training. And this summer, I plan to sign up for the Learn To Row program on the water.

I'm using the Concept2 online training log to track my performance, which is awesome. I can sync the erg monitor with my phone, then upload the data to the website, where my coach can check my progress in detail. Highly recommend it. It's also very cool to rank myself against everyone else and participate in the frequent challenges C2 posts.

I'd like to lose weight, but I know I'm mostly motivated by competition, so while my official goal is to PB at the race, my underlying goal is to lose 50 more lbs (I've already lost 30 over the last year). That'll put me at the top of my healthy BMI range. It's slow going, since I've been more focused on eating for performance than for weight loss, but I'm ramping up my efforts there, since I know that the lighter I am, the faster I can go. Hence, getting back into MFP.

So, if you're out there, tell us what you're doing, and what your plans are?

Replies

• CafeRacer808
    CafeRacer808 Posts: 2,396 Member
    Options