Has anyone tried the eat water slim pasta/spaghetti /rice?

Options
It's made from konjac glucocanman ( sorry if that's wrong spelling) and is meant to be high fibre good at regulating glucose levels and is very low in cals/carbs etc! I've only tried the slimfast noodle pots and seem ok just wondered if anyone has tried the eat water slim ones? What do they taste like? Many thanks

Replies

• Queenmunchy
    Queenmunchy Posts: 3,380 Member
    Options
    Yes. I have been buying them for over 15 years at my Asian grocery store. The most important part is after rinsing and patting dry, dry fry as much as possible. If you skip this, the texture is like rubber bands.
    I also pretty much only use them as a sub for ramen or rice noodles - noodle bowls, stir fry, etc and no more than 50:50 (typically 25:75) with veggies or meat, not as a main component. I don't care for them in Italian dishes.
  • Alatariel75
    Alatariel75 Posts: 17,959 Member
    Options
    I find they're ok if you rinse them really well and use a more flavorful sauce. Otherwise they tend to taste funky.
  • giovanna8830
    giovanna8830 Posts: 80 Member
    Options
    Konjac,shirataki -neutral taste
  • lauraemily84
    lauraemily84 Posts: 140 Member
    Options
    Hey - thank you for the replies - I think the eat water ones are like microwave rice / noodles aren't they? So I don't think u wash and dry them - has anyone tried the pasta or rice versions? X
  • lauraemily84
    Options
    Or any ideas for substituting for pasta an rice? I eat a fair bit of both but there pretty high in cals
  • EttaMaeMartin
    EttaMaeMartin Posts: 303 Member
    Options
    they now have rice made from califlower. it is in the frozen foods, green giant and bird's eye. cook in bag. tastes great 25 calories a serving, 85 grams. carbs 4 grams no fat. i actually really like it! check it out. i found it at walmart.
  • Queenmunchy
    Queenmunchy Posts: 3,380 Member
    Options