workout through the pain???

Options
I have been walking on treadmill for over a week now and my legs hurt. Do I push through the pain or is my body saying don't push it. This is my first time ever walking/running on a treadmill

Replies

• Aaish
    Aaish Posts: 21 Member
    Options
    Bump!!
  • twiniemily
    twiniemily Posts: 24
    Options
    I've had exactly the same problem! I have had to take a day off to let them recover a bit and just doing a Yoga class tonight for a bit of stretching. Back on the treadmill tomorrow. I would personally say, don't over do it, you don't want it to get worse and have to take more than a few days off!
  • emmaNEEDSskinny
    Options
    if you dont faint puke or die carry on ;)
    Jullian Micheals
  • Atlantique
    Atlantique Posts: 2,484 Member
    Options
    I have been walking on treadmill for over a week now and my legs hurt. Do I push through the pain or is my body saying don't push it. This is my first time ever walking/running on a treadmill

What sort of pain? Joints? Muscles? Sharp, or a dull ache?

There's a difference between muscle soreness from working out and sharp or severe pain injoints or injury. You can work through muscle soreness, but any other sort of pain demands rest.
  • summertime_girl
    summertime_girl Posts: 3,945 Member
    Options
    It really depends on what the pain is. If you're getting plantar fasciitis, exercising through the pain will make worse. Ditto runner's knee. If you don't change what you're doing, and how you're doing it, you'll make things worse.

If it's simply muscle aches from starting a new program, plow ahead.

You may be doing too much too fast though. If you're new, never go more than 10% more per week. For example, if you go ten miles in the first week, don't do more than 11 miles the next.
  • Atlantique
    Atlantique Posts: 2,484 Member
    Options
    Jullian Micheals