Lifting regularly but weight isn't going down

Options
Hi folks,

First post, so apologies if I've put it in the wrong section, but I'm looking for some help/advice.

I've been counting calories properly for about 3 months and properly hitting the gym for about 1.5 months now (not long, I know). However, I was initially losing weight fairly regularly and went from 85kg to 80kg while counting calories but not exercising (height of 169cm, ~5'7").

Since going to the gym I have focused more on increasing strength so have typically been doing 3x6-8 with exercises and focusing on compound movements. I've been getting significantly stronger and I definitely feel stronger, especially in my upper back and shoulders, but my weight doesn't seem to be changing.

Currently on a diet of around 1600kcal/day and lifting 4-5 days a week - supplemented with some cardio 2-3 times a week. I've been eating fairly well, only having a cheat meal - typically just some sushi - once per week.

However, since lifting, my weight hasn't changed at all - I'm still at 80-81kg - and I seem to be getting stronger still. I'm a bit of a newbie at this so any explanation from a dietary POV would be great.

Thanks!

Replies

• GauchoMark
    GauchoMark Posts: 1,804 Member
    Options
    are you eating back your exercise calories?

• gham18
    gham18 Posts: 3 Member
    Options
    GauchoMark wrote: »
    are you eating back your exercise calories?

Nah, I'm on a roughly-fixed 1600kcal per day. I plan my meals on MFP and add my exercise into my diary at the end of the day so it doesn't throw off my macros.
  • tinkerbellang83
    tinkerbellang83 Posts: 9,136 Member
    Options
    Opening your diary up to public view will help you get better responses.

Also have you been recording non-scale measurements? Weight loss doesn't always show on the scale.