When and where to add to routine

Options
Okohme
Okohme Posts: 152 Member
I am fairly new to getting (back) into shape but have a good thing going on. I ran a 5k, and just this Sunday ran a 10k. I want to improve my speed so I am planning to start adding in speed work. The trouble is I am not really sure when I should do it.

My current workout routine is:
Monday: Shoulder, back, and core day.
Tuesday: Run 4mi
Wednesday: Leg day
Thursday: Rest
Friday: Arm day
Saturday: Run 4mi
Sunday: Run 7 mi
With few exceptions, I also get at least 10,000 steps a day. I will soon be trying to do walks with my son (pushing stroller) again once its warm and not raining all day.

At some point I want to up my mileage, but given my present time constraints I am looking just to add in speed work at first. My first thought, obviously, would be to do speedwork Thursday, but that is currently my only rest day.

Replies

• MeanderingMammal
    MeanderingMammal Posts: 7,866 Member
    Options
    Three runs, totalling 15 miles per week is a bit light.

Personally I'd recommend adding a run day, but if you're sticking with three then one easy, one long and one speed will potentially help.

I'd suggest using your Tuesday as your speed day, although that may impact your leg session. I'd avoid the Thursday for speed as you're in limited recovery before your Saturday easy paced.

For a speed session id go for a 10-15 minutes warm up at your easy pace, followed by either 3-4 miles of tempo pace or an interval set, then 10-15 minute cool down. Intervals when you're new to speed would be say 8 of 200 metres​ with minute rest periods at your easy pace.

What I'd do for a 10 K at the moment is:

Monday - rest
    Tuesday - speed session up to 12K
    Wednesday - easy recovery to 10K
    Thursday - X training
    Friday - X training
    Saturday - Easy paced up to 12K
    Sunday - Long up to 18K
  • Okohme
    Options
    Three runs, totalling 15 miles per week is a bit light.