Help

Options
Hello everyone I'm very new to this app and the whole diet and exercise thing. Please give me any tips or advice you may have. Thanks!

Replies

• LessCookiess
    LessCookiess Posts: 538 Member
    Options
    There is a sticky that says most helpful posts I find to be helpful. The best tip I can give you is to enter your goals on MFP and eating the calories provided.
  • suruda
    suruda Posts: 1,233 Member
    Options
    Buy a kitchen scale and be honest with tracking your food...it's pretty eye opening what a true "portion" size really is! Fill your plate with half veggies...they go a long way for bulk with very little calories. There's a ton to learn, spend some time poking around!

• Nikion901
    Nikion901 Posts: 2,467 Member
    Options
    First off ... know what it is you want to achieve, and why. Those will become the foundation for keeping you moving forward when you grow tired (burn-out?) of doing the work.

Second ... No matter if you are trying to gain or lose weight, or just recomposition your body, it will take time ... so don't try to rush it, and don't feel you need to make all the changes all at once. You will have a better level of success if you build on your changes to your daily routine regarding "diet and exercise" continually over a long period of time.

Third ... Find resources that will help you gather the knowledge you don't already have regarding your goal with the "diet and exercise" thing ... you can use this app, you can google, you can search YouTube, you can seek the advice of a dietician or nutritionist, a physical therapist, a physiologist, an educated and experiences trainer at a gym, at the local library via books and such.