It Came To Me In A Dream...

I would like to be a well-rounded healthy person. Make that WELL but not ROUNDED - LOL. Anyway I have been looking for something to complement what I already do for physical activity. The treadmill/running is great physically, and yoga is great spiritually. I wanted something that would sharpen my reflexes AND my mind. Last night I dreamed that I took up boxing. It came to me out of nowhere.

I woke up kind of chuckling, but the more I thought about it, the more enthused I became. It seems like just the ticket. I need to find a welcoming gym that won't snicker when a 62-year old woman walks in and asks to be trained in boxing.

Anyone else out there doing it? Any thoughts/opinions/tips/whatever.....??????

Replies

• Sara1791
    Sara1791 Posts: 760 Member
    I have no experience in boxing, but I wanted to comment because I often get solutions to my problems in dreams. Weird ones but good ones. Good luck!
  • Bakins929
    Bakins929 Posts: 896 Member
    I think this is awesome! Maybe you can take the first step at home with a punching bag or a speed bag. You can get a bag and gloves and wraps for under $100. I'm not a boxer by any means, but I started that way and found it to be a great workout, and a fantastic stress relief! Stressed? Angry? Mad? Just tape a pic of someones face that is troubling you onto the punching bag, and have at it! ;)

I'm certain you can find a boxing gym that will train you, but it may take a while to find them. I'd start by calling around, then follow up with a visit. Good luck!
  • STEVE142142
    STEVE142142 Posts: 867 Member
    Hey don't prejudge people in the gym. Most people would be impressed that at your age, you're still young, would want to push themselves and try something you.