How should I squat?

Options
I have bad knees. I always have had bad knees. When I was younger, if I sat down in a movie theater too long my knees started to hurt (this still happens). It's gotten worse since I started lifting and doing squats. A man in the gym I guessed watched me when I was doing BB squats and noticed how I had to put on those knee hugger things (I can't remember the name) and when I was done he said that if I have issues with my knees, that I don't have to go all the way down when I squat. That I should go parallel or just under parallel and it would really help me out.

I really don't want my knees (specifically my right one) to get worse and I also don't want to give up barbell squats because I love them so much. Any advice?? Does the gym guy have a point?

Replies

• quiksylver296
    quiksylver296 Posts: 28,442 Member
    Options
    What kind of shoes are you squatting in?
  • alondrakayy
    alondrakayy Posts: 304 Member
    Options

Good question. I don't squat wearing shoes. Just wear socks.

• quiksylver296
    quiksylver296 Posts: 28,442 Member
    Options

Good question. I don't squat wearing shoes. Just wear socks.

Try putting your heels on 5 lb plates, and then squatting. See if that helps your issues. If it does, you'll probably want to get some squat shoes.
  • rybo
    rybo Posts: 5,424 Member
    Options
    A video of you squatting would help most. We can't diagnose what we can't see. Have you played with stance width, toe out position? Are your hips moving back first, before your knees bend? How's your hip & ankle mobility? Knees tracking in line with your toes? So many things to evaluate
  • adhocNC
    adhocNC Posts: 4 Member
    Options
    Shoes help with ankle mobility which most people have a problem with. Be sure that you are staying over the middle of your foot. Most people when they lack the ankle mobility go on their toes.