Biking to lose weight?but not!

Options
I have been biking to and from work for 16 months now. I also bike on the weekends for about 3-4 hours. I haven't lost an ounce!! I am told I'm building muscles but I really don't think that's the case. I see zero muscle tonage and all my measurements are about the same?

Replies

• ladydeathstar66
    ladydeathstar66 Posts: 16 Member
    Options
    So I have to eat LESS calories than I burn? I think I'd be starving at that point
  • TavistockToad
    TavistockToad Posts: 35,719 Member
    Options
    Eat less
  • ladydeathstar66
    Options
    I have no idea what this calorie deficit stuff is all about.
  • ladydeathstar66
    Options
    If I consume any less than 2,000 calories per day I can't perform on my bike...
  • TavistockToad
    Options

Are you weighing and measuring everything you eat?
  • ladydeathstar66
    Options
    @tavistock road I barely eat that much lol..
  • Machka9
    Machka9 Posts: 24,954 Member
    Options
    So I have to eat LESS calories than I burn?

I have no idea what this calorie deficit stuff is all about.

Yes, of course.

Enter your details into MFP.
    Select sedentary as your activity level.
    Select to lose 1 lb/week.
    MFP will give you the number of calories you need to eat ... that amount, no more.

If you exercise, enter that, but enter a very realistic amount. I choose the slow/low/light options and round the time down.

Eat about half your exercise calories back ... unless you go for a really long ride on the weekend, in which case you'll want to eat about 75% of your calories back.
  • TavistockToad
    Options
    @tavistock road I barely eat that much lol..

But are you weighing what you eat?

You just said you can't cycle that far without eating 2000 cals... so either you're eating that much or you're not?
  • Machka9
    Options

How far are you cycling on your commutes?
  • ladydeathstar66
    Options