Unsure about what to do

Options
I'm relatively new to MFP. I saw initial success the first 2 weeks. I have about 250 lbs to lose. My calorie goal is 3260. I have been eating between 2000 and 2300 calories per day. I do use scales and measuring cups etc. So even if my calorie intake is off, it's not off by 1000+ calories. I've led a sedentary lifestyle most of my life. I've been working out with a personal trainer 3 times a week. I don't add those calories.

I've seen 0 lbs lost in the last 14 days. Not sure how to proceed. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Replies

• macgurlnet
    macgurlnet Posts: 1,946 Member
    Options
    How often are you weighing yourself?

I would give it at least 2 more weeks or perhaps 4. If you still see absolutely NO movement, then it's time to make some adjustments.

~Lyssa
  • imwichya1
    imwichya1 Posts: 21 Member
    Options
    Every other day. It's tough not to see the scale moving.
  • macgurlnet
    macgurlnet Posts: 1,946 Member
    Options
    imwichya1 wrote: »
    Every other day. It's tough not to see the scale moving.

Weight loss is rarely linear. The human body is something like 60% water, and that can cause plenty of fluctuations in your weight. Add in minor changes in your food from day to day (ate more carbs that usual? Up goes the weight. Ate more sodium than usual? There it goes again), and the likelihood of a daily move down is pretty slim.

I agree with everything @cmriverside said. Have other goals. Focus on being around or a bit under your calorie goal. Walk more. Experiment with new foods and recipes.

Trust the math - you'll get where you need to be!

~Lyssa
  • imwichya1
    Options
    Thanks cmriverside. I've always tried lo carb. I've had good success initially. Dropped 100 lbs once. But I always hit a wall. So MFP makes sense. For every 3500 calorie deficit, one should lose 1 lb. So to not see the scale move, makes it tough.
  • cmriverside
    cmriverside Posts: 33,985 Member