Exercise that is not exercise

Options
JoLeeFA
JoLeeFA Posts: 211 Member
I am a school teacher who has a couple more weeks at home with the kids (young) before school starts.

Please share ideas for physical activity that is not "go to the gym" exercise type things.
Any ideas on making the most of my laundry/cooking/house keeping time would help too.

Thanks

Replies

• BeautyFromPain
    BeautyFromPain Posts: 4,952 Member
    Options
    take them to the park, or go out for a bike ride
  • AHealthierRhonda
    AHealthierRhonda Posts: 881 Member
    Options
    Put on some ankel weights or a weighted vest and do the everyday stuff. I want to get a weighted vest for when I use the elliptical. THe "added weight" gives you more of a burn! I have a home daycare and I use ankle weights and do standing leg exercises while the kids are playing outside or inside during free time. I also use them as hand weights and do arm exercises. Dancing with the kids is always a good calorie burn as well!!
  • autiemommy
    autiemommy Posts: 238
    Options
    I wear wrist weights and ankle weights when im cleaning and put on some upbeat music and dance around while vaccuuming and dusting. LOL. sounds silly but i love it...

Have you seen the Clean Momma routine from the Dr's show www.cleanmomma.com
  • MB_Positif
    MB_Positif Posts: 8,897 Member
    Options
    I use resistance bands a lot at home during random times...I do them in the bathroom while my son is in the tub. I also do shadowboxing (basically just punching in front of you) in sets of 100 pretty much every time I sit on the toilet at home or work. You can do calf raises anytime your sitting at the computer or standing at the bottom of the steps waiting for the kids to come down. There's a website called quickie chick or something like that where she has a lot of little sneaky exercises you can fit in!
  • FaithHopeTrust
    FaithHopeTrust Posts: 105 Member
    Options