When does it stop hurting?

Options
I'm a teacher, so I have "lightly active" as my default setting. I also have a summer job that involves a significant amount of walking. Still, there's a part of me that feels like the increase isn't all THAT much - I made sure to get 10k steps in daily during the school year. On the days I work, I get in an average of 18k. I let my step count go lower on my off days (usually 8-9k) but I've started a strength program at a nearby gym.

And my legs and feet ache all the time. It's discomfort, not pain - I can tell that I'm not injured. But it's nearly constant (though it's worse in the mornings) and it hasn't improved after a month on the job. I stretch. I take Epsom salt baths. And spinach is my go-to veggie, so I'm pretty sure I'm getting all the potassium I need and then some.

But I'm getting frustrated with it. Does it actually GET any better? Is there something I should be doing that I'm not? Or do people who are more regularly active just accept this and I need to just suck it up?

Replies

• Sumiblue
    Sumiblue Posts: 1,597 Member
    Options
    Are you standing & walking on concrete mostly? I have a house with a concrete slab floor and my feet hurt a lot if I wear unsupportive shoes. Are you wearing shoes with good support?
  • cmriverside
    cmriverside Posts: 34,082 Member
    Options
    When I had a job that had me walking/on my feet and my shoes were more than four or five months old, my feet and legs would hurt.

Try new shoes every four months.
  • clicketykeys
    clicketykeys Posts: 6,568 Member
    Options
    Sumiblue wrote: »
    Are you standing & walking on concrete mostly? I have a house with a concrete slab floor and my feet hurt a lot if I wear unsupportive shoes. Are you wearing shoes with good support?

Well, not concrete. It's mostly asphalt.

... I suppose that doesn't really help matters, then? ;) I do have insoles to help - my feet overpronate. Any suggestions for good walking shoes?