Tilapia ideas

Options
FairyMiss
FairyMiss Posts: 1,812 Member
would love to get ideas for tilapia , something diffrent from my usually that is low carbish, and that an 11 yearold (picky) will eat

Replies

• missionmanshane
    missionmanshane Posts: 21 Member
    Options
    I'm no expert, but after tilapia fell apart on the grill, we tried a grill basket (like the kind for shrimp), and found it very tasty and easy to cook.

We used some seasoning mix. Just pick the kind you like best. Use a butter/citrus combination to lightly cover the fish so it doesn't dry out.

Butter or oil (or Pam) the basket lightly, then clamp it down around the tilapia.

Grill until flaky. It takes just a few quick minutes. Try to turn once or thrice. (Twice turned overcooks one side.) (and I like to type "thrice.") Stay at the grill! Tilapia is great, but is easy to turn into flaky charcoal.

This is complemented well by long grain brown rice pilaf, grilled veggies, or tropical fruit mixes. Try a fruit salsa (if your spice mix matches well.)

You can go southwest, too, if your spice blend leans that way. Corn and black beans over fresh greens with traditional salsa makes a great side for southwestern-style spiced tilapia.

Just some ideas we have tried. Have fun.
  • alwaysenl
    alwaysenl Posts: 197 Member
    Options
    I sometimes make a Parmesan Crusted Tilapia that my two sons love, even my super picky 5 year old! It uses fiber one cereal crumbs instead of bread crumbs. Here is the recipe...

* 4-4oz Tilapia fillets
    * ½ cup (30g) Fiber One Cereal (or All Bran)
    * ¼ cup (20g) Parmesan Cheese
    * ½ tsp onion powder
    * ½ tsp garlic powder
    * 1 tsp Italian Seasoning
    * Salt & Pepper
    * Non-stick cooking spray
    Preheat the broiler
    Place the cereal, parmesan cheese, and spices, in a blender or food processor to make the breading.