New dieter, gained weight in first week

Options
I am brand new to dieting, I have damaged my knee and come off long term medication and gained 2stone. I now weigh over 13 stone at 5ft 5. I started my fitness last Monday, I have weighed everything I've eaten, scanned every food to get correct cals, I went over twice but still under for the whole week as had two very low cal days.... Why have I gained 2lb... Yes gained.... I could have understood not losing any as I realise that in reality 0.5lb weight loss a week is realistic on 1200 cal with a damaged knee.

PLEASE HELP ME. it is vital I lose weight for my health.

Replies

• GrumpyHeadmistress
    GrumpyHeadmistress Posts: 666 Member
    Options
    Don't panic! The first week of my diet I gained too - 3lbs. It happens.

If you're weighing all your foods (even the ones scanned) and making good/accurate choices from the database then the weight will come off.
  • MichelleSilverleaf
    MichelleSilverleaf Posts: 2,028 Member
    Options
    Was 1200cal what you were given by MFP or a doctor?
  • taysukidesu
    taysukidesu Posts: 11 Member
    Options
    You just need to give it time. Continue for another month, and then see what has changed.

I use Happy Scale and weigh myself every day. For almost two weeks my weight fluctuated within a 2kg range. It was SO frustrating to see my weight yo-yo. However, I continued to stay under my calorie goal the entire time, and I dropped 1.5kg suddenly after the second week ended, which is where Happy Scale predicted I would be based on my progress.

You can do it! Just be firm with tracking.
  • gothomson
    gothomson Posts: 215 Member
    Options