Type II Diabetes recipes?

Options
_pi3_
_pi3_ Posts: 2,311 Member
I'm not diabetic but my mother is. Me and bfs diet are kinda bad. Bacon, beef, egg yolks. Anyway is there any recipes that hubby will enjoy and be good for mom? Im not too picky, myself

Also explain to me why it's good for diabetes if you can. I'm not an expert on the whole diet thing. I know anything white is bad and .. that's about it

But I usually go for whole grain bread and whole grain pasta and brown rice anyway. I still haven't done anything with sweet potatoes though.

Replies

• TavistockToad
    TavistockToad Posts: 35,719 Member
    Options
    whats wrong with bacon, beef or egg yolks?
  • HeidiCooksSupper
    HeidiCooksSupper Posts: 3,831 Member
    Options
    A good source for what a healthy meal should be is the Healthy Eating Plate from Harvard's School of Public Health.

19sg6zr7ohbw.jpg

Generally, this diet is good for everyone, including those with Type II diabetes. The most important factor for weight loss and control of Type II diabetes is keeping calorie counts such that a healthy weight is maintained. For more information on diet and Type II diabetes, see https://medlineplus.gov/ency/article/007429.htm
  • _pi3_
    Options
    A good source for what a healthy meal should be is the Healthy Eating Plate from Harvard's School of Public Health.

19sg6zr7ohbw.jpg

Generally, this diet is good for everyone, including those with Type II diabetes. The most important factor for weight loss and control of Type II diabetes is keeping calorie counts such that a healthy weight is maintained. For more information on diet and Type II diabetes, see https://medlineplus.gov/ency/article/007429.htm

Thanks
  • jgnatca
    jgnatca Posts: 14,464 Member
    Options
    I think you all can enjoy many of the same foods it's just that you will be portioning it differently. The Harvard plate is a good example.

Here's my favourite.