Does everyone need a personal/specific diet?

Options
Hi I'm new to the app and might start rambling but I'll try to get to the point :) I'm 5'5 and 229. I've lost 6 pounds so far within 2 weeks so I'm not complaining but I've been through this many times I'm no stranger to dieting lol but I haven't tried to diet since I was 12 years old and the last time I lost weight was not healthy so I want to make sure it stays off for good. Weight has always yo-yo'd throughout my teen/adulthood so I've been trying to educate myself more about how to lose weight and be healthy but there are a lot of contradictions and I'm not sure what's true. Right now I'm not doing anything specific just eating less portions and less calories and low sugar low carbs. I don't have a workout routine as I walk on campus and walk a lot at work and most days I'm very close to 10,000 steps but should I be doing more? I keep reading about Keto and paleo and read that my body type should do paleo but fat loss is better with Keto?? My dr was not specific about a plan except to stay away from anything from a cow? That was about all the advice he gave me. Any advice would help as again I'm a beginner and would love to hear from anyone who recommends what they did or point me in a clearer path would be great.

Replies

• CattOfTheGarage
    CattOfTheGarage Posts: 2,750 Member
    Options
    All this idea of 'diets' and 'plans' just overcomplicates things. All you need to do is stick to your calorie goal. The different eating habits of different people are personal preference or just different ways to manage hunger - what satisfies one person won't satisfy another.

Just log your food, stick to your calorie goal, and experiment to find out what keeps you satisfied. And ignore your doctor. Barring allergies, there is nothing wrong with cow products. They certainly won't stop you losing weight.
  • missh1967
    missh1967 Posts: 661 Member
    Options