How is this for breakfast??

I am very new to dieting but remember vaguely my coaches from highschool telling us of food like this. I can't remember it all. I'm trying to lose weight. I am 5'11" and weigh 280 pounds. By no means am I not athletic. I can function like anyone else and am stronger then most. I want to tone I suppose would be a better word. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

Replies

• livingleanlivingclean
    livingleanlivingclean Posts: 11,752 Member
    Do you enjoy it? Does it keep you feeling full? Does it allow you to fit other meals in to your day that also satiate and satisfy you?

I personally prefer to not eat breakfast most of the time. If I do, its not oats as I don't particularly enjoy them, and they don't satiate me at all (unless combined with loads of tasty ingredients which uses up lots of calories and leaves me with little left for the rest of the day)
  • rakeru19
    rakeru19 Posts: 9 Member
    Hi there! I'm not a nutritionist or a coach but I saw your pic and I'm wondering how it amounts to 750 calories? One thing I noted was the 25gms of sugar, in my opinion I would switch the granola with something with less sugar. I suggest checking out bodybuilding.com it's a great community since you're looking to build lean muscle mass
  • kommodevaran
    kommodevaran Posts: 17,890 Member
    Your body burns a certain amount of calories just by keeping you alive. Then you move, a little or a lot, through the day, and burn more calories. To lose weight, you need to, over time, eat fewer calories than you burn. This is something you just do, you don't try. In fact, it's better to set out to just do it. Logging your food intake - correctly - in your food diary and hitting your calorie goal - assuming that is set correctly too - each day, means that you will lose weight.