Welcome to Debate Club! Please be aware that this is a space for respectful debate, and that your ideas will be challenged here. Please remember to critique the argument, not the author.

Calories vs Carbs

Options
KatieeM14
KatieeM14 Posts: 22 Member
I'm curious on everyone's opinion on watching your calories vs watching your carbs. I've been doing Keto or the past 2 weeks and have lost a few pounds ( probably just water weight), however I don't know if I would be able to keep up with this long term.

Sorry I'm new to weightloss and I'm still trying to figure everything out, such as what works best. I'm afraid if I only focus on eating low calories that I'll end up eating too many carbs ( I'm a big carb lover).

Any help would be appreciated.

Replies

• estherdragonbat
    estherdragonbat Posts: 5,283 Member
    Options
    I'm an ovo-lacto vegetarian. There are carbs in most of my protein sources. In fact, carbs are about the only macro target I occasionally exceed. (I usually hit my 'base' protein, but not the increased target MFP gives me after exercising.)

I've dropped over 77 lbs in just over 9 months.

The best weight-loss plan is the one you can keep following when you reach goal and need to maintain. If you aren't willing to go as low-carb as keto requires, that probably isn't the best plan for you. If, on the other hand, you're debating whether it's 'not for you,' or just 'a difference you need to get used to', you can always change your mind later.

For weight-loss, as the poster above me (as I type this, there's only one), is correct: calories are all that matter. Macros count for nutrition and satiety, but satiety is different for just about everyone.
  • KatieeM14
    Options
    Thanks for everyone whose responded so far. I think I'll focus on calories for a while and see what happens.