I suck at running. Discuss.

Replies

• Eire228
    Eire228 Posts: 238 Member
    PaytraB wrote: »
    girlinahat wrote: »
    Run slower.

Really. Don't worry about pace. There is nothing wrong with running an 11-12 minute mile, most of my runs are that pace but very very slowly getting to a higher average pace.

This. Run slow and you'll run longer. Speed will happen in time.

How long have you been running? How are you training for distance?

I've been running for about 4 years and my running pace is about 12 minutes a mile. Summer heat slows me down even more. This morning I ran 7K in 66 minutes. Slow maybe but I did it, in the summer and in the heat.

How are your shoes? They may be causing trouble and making your legs feel tired.

I've been running for 3 years now. I must admit, I don't go as much in the winter, but I still go enough to maintain the ability to run 2-3 miles.

Your response speaks volumes to me, thank you! It's so helpful to hear that running for 3 years does not mean I should be faster than I am. Your comments are very reassuring for me. :)

What I've gotten from all of this is that I need to run slower, and build up from there. My next run I will do that. And it's ok that I still run 12 minute miles after 3 years. Thank you all again, your responses have been hugely helpful!
  • lorrpb
    lorrpb Posts: 11,464 Member
    Poor thing. You can run only 10 min mile and only 10 miles at once. It must feel awful!
  • ck2d
    ck2d Posts: 372 Member
    Work on breathing. You want to breath with your belly. Practice by lying down and watch your stomach. You want to pull your diaphragm down and your belly will pop up. Don't breath with your upper chest. Sing and breath down into your belly - that will help strengthen your muscles so you can control your breathing better.
  • ninerbuff
    ninerbuff Posts: 48,489 Member
    I suck at long distance running. So I walk/jog instead.

But if you're intent is to run a 10k well, you keep practicing at it.