Walking for weight loss?

Options
Does anyone walk regularly and achieve weightloss? I'm a full time student struggling to lose a few extra pounds. Tips?

Replies

• catgb56
    catgb56 Posts: 13 Member
    Options
    We walk almost every night, for about 45 minutes, in the neighborhood; longer when we hit the trails in the woods. Always take the pooch with us. Weight and inches are coming off slowly but it does work. Need to walk at a decent pace if possible.
  • CoachJen71
    CoachJen71 Posts: 1,200 Member
    Options
  • TeaBea
    TeaBea Posts: 14,517 Member
    Options
    Walking is great exercise.

Sketchy neighborhood or bad weather? Take your "walk" indoors. There are walking style workouts on YouTube.....look for Leslie Sansone or Jessica Smith.
  • IVMay
    IVMay Posts: 442 Member
    Options
    Walking for a considerable period is brilliant for losing weight and keeping in good health. Big park optional but preferential for a bit of 'peace' and solace in an otherwise busy life :)
  • dfwesq
    dfwesq Posts: 592 Member
    edited April 2017
    Options
    Most of my exercise is walking or hiking and I've had good results. My only tip is to find an enjoyable place and time to walk. A lot of people find outdoor walking more fun than indoor. ETA: Dress properly, eat enough snacks so you have energy and aren't hungry, and stay hydrated.

There are also a lot of other fun and convenient activities that are good exercise, like dancing.
  • leanjogreen18
    leanjogreen18 Posts: 2,492 Member
    edited April 2017
    Options
    I live by a national park and love love walking and hiking it's my primary method of exercise.

It might be hard to lose weight by just walking unless you are creating a deficit in calories. It can be done if you are not replacing the calories burned though.

• DietPrada
    DietPrada Posts: 1,171 Member
    edited April 2017
    Options