Food Abuse

Options
This problem of mine is years in the making, and I am tired of losing. I have never done this before, but I am at the end of my rope and I want to reach out for advice.
I am someone who suffers from anxiety/depression, and I have been this way most of my life. I can specifically recall, at ten years old, mindlessly eating an entire bag of Lay's potato chips, and it made me feel so peaceful. It was downhill from there. As I gained weight, and became a teenager, I was bullied for being overweight. Then, my problem reversed, and I became obsessed with not eating and starving myself, and this pattern of behavior has continued ever sense. This is not about calories, or macros, or diets, this is about a perpetual cycle of fear, binging, shame, restriction, depression, fear, and binging again. Whether I'm binging, or starving, I know that I am hurting myself, and each time it happens I get more and more discouraged. I have had many vices over the course of my life. Drugs, cigarettes, alcohol, and I am proud to say that I have successfully vanquished those habits with time and counseling. Food, however, has proved a more difficult adversary. It is my oldest vice, and the last one I am trying to rid myself of. I think the difficulty is, with other things (drugs, cigarettes, alcohol) you can totally abstain and keep it away. Food, you cannot. You have to interact with food every single day, and make a conscious choice every single time. My question is for people who have had the same problem as me, and overcome this problem: HOW?