Look bigger despite weight loss

Options
I was stuck on a plateau for 4 weeks, now I’m starting to lose weight again, but I look bigger then I did at a higher weight 4 weeks ago. I work as a quality inspector in an automotive factory, so I’m running my *kitten* off all day. For 8 hours I’m on my feet, bending, lifting and running around both warehouse and factory. I make well over 10k steps a day and am moving huge metal bins on a regular basis. I eat about 1800 cals a day and drink a ton of water. However, before I started this job, I went to the gym and now I don’t. Please advise.

Replies

• KevannC
    KevannC Posts: 83 Member
    Options
    Could be water weight? What is your tdee? You seem quite active so maybe you put on a slight bit of muscle in that month.
  • LiftHeavyThings27105
    LiftHeavyThings27105 Posts: 2,086 Member
    Options
    Just gonna ask the silly question: what does your 1800 calories look like? More curious than anything.

And, for full disclosure, I am currently not doing any training, either. Working on lower Carb intake (like 65g or less) and look a lot leaner after three or four days of doing this. And, I am a 50yo male, 6'0" @ 208lbs. If I go back up to "normal" carb intake (200g+) then I look (and feel) bloated within a day or two. My pants fit a bit snugger and and and.

I do have a higer A1C (pre-diabetic.....and that for the last decade) so playing with lower carbs for health reasons....so, not bashing carbs here (which seems to be quite popular....not a part of that).

So, TDEE is comprised of several things: BMR + PA + NEAT + TEF. It would seem that you have a really good NEAT (always on your feet at work, more than 10,000 steps, et al). You mention 1,800 Calories a day. Is this deficit, maintenance or surplus? I am sure that you are in a deficit but I always ask. But, you now have no PA. That might not be such a big deal.....what type of training did you do before you started this job?