Really Discouraged Newby

Options
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to this healthy eating thing. I have gained 40lbs since January and no amount of working out seems to be helping. I'm hoping to find some encouraging friends that have found success. Please feel free to add me.

Replies

• claricef8705
    claricef8705 Posts: 7 Member
    Options
    Thank you so much! I will give that a shot and see where the problems are. I've also been told by my doctor that my hormones are causing me to gain more quickly than I'm used to. Soo discouraged. I appreciate any and all suggestions!
  • claricef8705
    claricef8705 Posts: 7 Member
    Options
    Thank you, everyone! I appreciate your time and input
  • okjimmied
    okjimmied Posts: 10 Member
    Options
    Looking for support here is a great step. Most of us know what to do. It's the doing it that remains the problem. I'm starting again today and this time I'm going to not go it alone but find support.

From past efforts, I know that if I actively engage in doing something that motivates my efforts (example: coming online and reading other people's posts) every day, I tend to stay focused on my efforts. Just trying to eat better or exercise is not enough...at least for me. I can do that route, but it always leads to compromise. And as soon as I start compromising with myself, I'm sunk.

Keep coming here Clarice. And feel free to add me as a friend.
  • cathipa
    cathipa Posts: 2,991 Member
    Options
    I found success when I started being truthful with my diet. I bought a food scale, started to weigh everything I consume and log everything with correct entries (no homemade or generic). I started to move more. Gradually the weight came off and I've been successful since. When I start to gain I know it's because I am not doing one of the above. Feel free to add for support!
  • times60
    times60 Posts: 204 Member
    Options
    you can add me. I am on MFP every day
  • drgnfyre
    drgnfyre Posts: 45 Member
    Options