Swimming tips for weight loss

Options
Any swimming tips for weight loss what do you eat and how long you swim for?

Feel free to add me I'm new to the app

Replies

• enyagoboom
    enyagoboom Posts: 377 Member
    Options
    i eat pretty much the same things as when i'm not swimming, my calorie goal is about 1400 per day before exercise. I started at 20 minute sessions and just this week increased to 40 minutes at what would be considered a low-to-moderate workout. 40 min burns approx 400 calories according to the MFP app (which I generally eat back about half of the recorded calories for exercise). Once a week I have a hard/vigerous workout which ups the calories earned a bit.

i paid for swim lessons in September and have been able to use that to increase my efficiency and workout out generally... prior to this i couldn't do even half a lap. I'm still kind of awful, but I improving awful. I now have a pretty set warmup, drills, and workout which helps me feel like i'm getting somewhere and i can generally track my improvements in the water, as well as on the scale.

the hunger after swimming is real so be prepared for it. definitely make sure you have your snacks and all that ready to go, or you'll overeat and waste the effort in the water :)

good luck!
  • mimc66
    mimc66 Posts: 33 Member
    Options
    enyagoboom - how many laps are you swimming now? I just took 3 group lessons and have been going to the pool 2x week. Feel like I'm getting worse. Curious how fast others progress.
  • enyagoboom
    Options
    I just wrote it all out and it's approx 15 laps total. I was going twice a week but I didn't see progress in my endurance until i hit 3-4 times a week.

My current sets are kind of sad but I figured I'd write them all out:

Warmup:
    1 lap with board, freestyle kick
    1 lap with board, back stroke kick
    1 lap with board, breast stroke kick
    (my legs are jelly at the end of this)