portion control for kids?

Options
mckant
mckant Posts: 217 Member
How/when is it appropriate to begin portioning your child's meals? My kids are 4 and 9 and I feel like now is a good time to really start teaching them about portion sizes but I don't want to tell them they can't eat more of something. I want them to understand healthy portion control but I don't want to starve them either :wink:

Replies

• atomdraco
    atomdraco Posts: 1,083 Member
    Options
    That's a tough one. Right now all I can do is keep reminding my 3 yr old that, if you are full, you don't need to keep eating and go play. Especially when I can see him slowing down. Often enough, he'll just stop and tell me: I'm full, and walk away.
  • dvusk
    dvusk Posts: 21
    Options
    I'm not an expert at all, but with kids, I'd say teaching them when it's good to stop eating is better than portion control. I'd suggest not asking if they're full, but if they're satisfied. If they're satisfied, they're done eating.

Just my two cents.
  • Oishii
    Oishii Posts: 2,675 Member
    Options
    I think I'd wait until it looked like it might become an issue. Some days my nearly 4 year old eats so much, some so little, and he always stops when he wants.

I have had to explain how addictive sugar is though. If my son has a little chocolate and then goes into a 'more, more, more' frenzy I explain that that's what chocolate does and if he waits a little then he won't want it any more. It's worked so far.
  • Jennloella
    Jennloella Posts: 2,286 Member
    Options
    my boys are 5 and 8, and with them, they don't eat when they're bored, and they only eat until they're full at meals. during the day they often ask for snacks, I give them healthy options. I started them young on fresh fruits and veggies, I think you don't need to bring it up unless you know your child is eating too much and eating just to eat. They are growing, and burning so much energy at this age!!
  • kristyoconnor