Just a few quick questions.

Options
*I am new to this and I am still learning what to eat and not to eat to stay within my goal for the day. I plan ahead and add / take away foods in advance to see if I am going to stay within my goals for the day. I have done tomorrow's food intake and it has me within my goals so my meals and snacks are planned for tomorrow. IS THIS BAD?
*Also, I am not a big water drinker, never have been, so what I do is I add probably 1 or 2 ounces of Sobe Lifewater to my water to flavor it so I can drink it. DOES THIS EFFECT MY WATER INTAKE FOR THE DAY BY DOING THIS?
*I noticed that after I added my exercises tonight, it told me that I was basically starving myself because it gave me a 250 calorie credit along w/ more protein, etc that I could still consume BECAUSE I exercised. That confused me.... I THOUGHT THE MAIN GOAL WAS TO EAT LESS THAN YOU WORK OFF IN A DAY????
I hope I am not bothering anyone by my questions.... I am new to this and this is probably the first few questions of many.... :blushing:
:blushing: THX!!

Replies

• ajbeans
    ajbeans Posts: 2,857 Member
    Options
    Planning ahead on your meals and snacks is AWESOME. It keeps you from getting hungry and grabbing whatever's closest to you, because you already know what you're going to eat. Good for you for planning.

You're fine flavoring your water like that. I found that I really liked the taste of a few drops of lemon juice in my water. Whatever gets it in you without adding a bunch of calories, do it!

MFP gives you a calorie goal so that you can lose weight without exercising. You burn calories just from living, so you're already burning more than you consume if you follow the MFP recommendations. Yes, you should eat at least a portion of those exercise calories. You can do a forum search for "eating exercise calories" and get more information than you ever wanted. :laugh:

Good luck, and welcome!
  • michaelaam18
    Options