Running thread & questions!

Options
So I’m a newbie runner pretty much. (It’s been on and off for about a year and a half) but for the past month or so I’ve had the goal of a 5k and I’ve been training for it with C25K. I’m a few weeks away from finishing the program and I’m proud, never been able to run over 20 minutes without stopping consistently and here I am doing it. Basically I’m different than most people. I wasn’t fit, then got out of shape and am looking to get fit again, while I played sports I was always chubby and out of shape growing up. I’ve lost some weight and I’m in better shape now and much healthier however I’m still insecure about my running pace. I run about a 10 minute mile which is huge for me because I used to be at 14-16 minute miles back In the day. I’m an 18 year old college kid and I’ll be running with my mom in her 40s so this is just for fun, I’m not expecting to win but I don’t want to feel embarrassed about not being as good as the other people my age. What are some tips you guys have for running, confidence, and just enjoying it overall? Favorite running gear? Snacks? Thanks so much!

Replies

• spiriteagle99
    spiriteagle99 Posts: 3,682 Member
    Options
    With a 10 minute mile, you'll be in the middle of the pack, so nothing to worry about. You'll see people walking, pushing strollers, running with dogs, doing walk/run intervals, etc. Line up in the middle. Faster people go in front. Walkers should go in the back (but don't always, unfortunately.)