Fitbit Charge 2 Accuracy?

Options
Aloha,

I just got a fitbit charge 2 and I absolutely love it! However, I have a question regarding the calorie adjustment it does with MFP. My fitbit claims that I burned about 1394 calories today, and I did move a lot while rearranging and cleaning house as well as shopping, but is this really that accurate? It seems like it claims I burned more calories than I feel it should have or am I just not used to seeing that I burned that much? Usually when I do cardio workouts I top out at about 450 ish calories a session, granted my treadmill doesn't take into account my weight etc.

I'm just afraid that eating back some of these "lost calories" will cause me to gain weight when I am aiming to lose. This is my first time tracking my average daily amount of activity via a tracker like this so I'm not sure whats right or not.

Replies

• fruoshea
    fruoshea Posts: 46 Member
    Options
    What's your activity level set to in your profile?

I had a Fitbit Flex for a few years and I found that it overestimated my calories burned, especially when walking. But the main problem, I found, with having it connected to MFP was that things I wouldn't have counted as exercise started adding calories to my daily allowance. So the step-adjustment for walking to the train from my house, walking from the train to work, walking around the office, etc. etc. would add to my daily calories when that's already accounted for in your MFP set-up.

So what I did was that I set my activity level to Sedentary (which it is anyway since I work in an office) and basically ignored the calories gained from anything I wouldn't log as exercise. So in your example, would you normally log cleaning and shopping? If not I would try not to eat back those calories.
  • fruoshea
    edited December 2017
    Options