Calorie burning and consuming for weight loss

Options
Hey there! I’m new to this calorie thing and I’m gonna sound like such a dumby but here it goes. My diary tells me my calorie thing is 1840 but I’m so confused because if that’s how much I need to eat, and then to lose weight I need to burn 500 to 1000 more calories than I eat daily, does that mean I need to burn approximately 2840? Jesus. Can someone just straight out tell me from this information how much I need to burn daily and how much I should eat daily. I just need someone smart to write it out for me haha. I’ve been going to the gym but now I’m worried I haven’t been burning enough calories to lose any weight and this has all been a waste of time.

Replies

• malibu927
    malibu927 Posts: 17,565 Member
    Options
    You already burn plenty of calories just by living and going about your day. Exercise is only a small chunk of that. MFP sets you up with a deficit when you sign up if you told it you want to lose weight.
  • LivingtheLeanDream
    LivingtheLeanDream Posts: 13,342 Member
    Options
    Mfp gave you 1840 cals? You set it up to lose 1lb a week? If so then eating 1840 cals will mean to will lose 1lb a week if you're logging your food intake accurately. If you exercise you will be able to eat even more.
  • threec
    threec Posts: 97 Member
    Options
    Eat what it tells you too, the math is all done for you. If you log or sync exercise calories eat them back as well, some people eat half some eat all. That part is kinda learn as you go

I set my activity level to the lowest and track my exercise, and eat about 1/2 back.
  • jessdecardigans
    jessdecardigans Posts: 11 Member
    Options
    Okay. So the 1840 is the calorie intake they are basically saying I can eat that much with no exercise and still lose 1lb a week. But if I exercise and burn calories then I can eat more?
  • jessdecardigans
    Options
    I think I get it
  • LivingtheLeanDream
    Options