I need advice about weight loss and gaining muscle please

Options
Just a little bit about me I am 5'10 started my weight loss on 1/1/16 at 415 lbs I've lost 100 lbs so far so I'm at 315 my goal weight is about 220 but I am looking to build alot of muscle also. I started lifting on 2/1/17 I got some results but they were not drastic which is what I expected because I have been eating at a deficit. My question is should I continue eating at a deficit and try to get closer to the goal weight before doing any bulking or should I alternate? I would like to get stronger and gain muscle but I am not happy at all because I still have tons of fat at 315

Replies

• terryt1992
    terryt1992 Posts: 94 Member
    Options
    Thanks guys I want to make a complete body transformation not just look the weight. I am only 25 years old and just had a baby so by the time my child is older I want to be a completely different person
  • Justin741
    Justin741 Posts: 249 Member
    Options
    Replying to the comments...

Won't a good progressive lifting program help you gain muscle and won't gaining muscle help you burn fat?

I am following this because this is a good question for me as well.
  • stanmann571
    stanmann571 Posts: 5,728 Member
    edited January 2018
    Options
    Justin741 wrote: »
    Replying to the comments...

Won't a good progressive lifting program help you gain muscle and won't gaining muscle help you burn fat?

I am following this because this is a good question for me as well.

YES, but without being disciplined with calories, that recomposition may come with weight gain or no weight lost.

Additionally, it's generally unlikely to gain significant muscle while in a deficit.
  • terryt1992
    Options