I want to stop growing quads...

Options
Ok, I’m on a glute building mission here. I have always been quad dominant and already have pretty big quads. I have been running Strong Curves for several months and I’ve noticed my quads have grown, too.

Now, I know there are exercises that activate the glutes more effectively (hip thrusts, RDLs) and I’m wondering if I should just start sticking to those. Would it be a bad idea to stop doing squats? Is there any way to stop growing my quads (or keep the growth minimal)?

Replies

• sardelsa
    sardelsa Posts: 9,812 Member
    Options
    I don't remember, but are you currently bulking? Keep in mind if you tend to gain fat in the lower body it can seem like your quads are getting huge when you bulk.. this happens to me everytime!! But then when I cut down again.. woosh.. away it goes and I'm left with my normal sized quads again.

In the chance that you are very quad-dominant and tend to put muscle on there more quickly, you can work more on glute activation beforehand, you could avoid progressive overload on quad-focused movements (such as squats). There are many glute exercises Bret Contreras indicates that don't engage the legs as much.. but you start to do that and you also really limit your glute growth, as well as your overall strength unfortunately.
  • EmbeeKay
    EmbeeKay Posts: 249 Member
    edited January 2018
    Options
    I DID want to bulk, but I don’t think it’s a good time to do it. My baby is up a lot at night and I am not getting much sleep at this point in my life. So I’m already fighting the urge to overeat during the day (because I’m tired) and sometimes I’m fatigued for my workouts. SO I think I’m probably in the recomp camp at this point. I put on too much fat over Christmas so I’m cutting a bit before I up my calories to maintenance. In the process of leaning out I’m noticing GOSH... my quads.