Exercises for digging?!?

I'm aware this is an oddly specific request, but I'm looking for suggestions on exercises to get better at digging holes.
(Yes, digging holes. I'm a scientist who spends all day sitting at a computer, but this summer I'll be on a team to dig holes for science.) Long story, but I want to be able to do my part.
Clearly, this will involve strengthening the back and upper body (plus endurance cardio), but I'd love to have a variety of specific exercises to incorporate. Any suggestions? (I tried google, but got suggestions for a volleyball move called a "dig". Not what I was looking for!) Also, actually digging practice holes isn't an option - I have no yard for this. :(

Replies

• stanmann571
    stanmann571 Posts: 5,728 Member
    edited February 2018
    Shovelling or post holing?

For Shoveling, something like deadlifts are going to be the best for strengthening the appropriate muscles.

For post holing, Maybe medicine ball slams.
  • beabria
    beabria Posts: 541 Member
    edited February 2018
    Actually both shoveling/hoeing and post-holing, but generally I'm pretty good with post-holing. Shoveling and hoeing.... well, I was once told (jokingly by a landscaper) that I dig like a baby who is just learning to dig!
  • Jthanmyfitnesspal
    Jthanmyfitnesspal Posts: 3,521 Member
    Digging is pretty hard work, so I would say that you need to get ready by doing some hard work in the gym.

Since you're asking for advice, I'd recommend that you go get some advice. You can do personal or group training. If you do that 2-3 times a week and add in some cardio, you'll certainly get in much better shape.
  • rsclause
    rsclause Posts: 3,103 Member