Too many carbs :(

Options
I am new to MFP and I am having trouble setting my "goals". I am way overweight so have a lot of weight to lose. In addition to being overweight I am also type one diabetic, insulin dependent. When I tried setting up a minimum of carbs to eat the MFP said I wasn't eating enough. How is it that I can eat enough and still hope to lose weight?

Replies

• Seffell
    Seffell Posts: 2,222 Member
    Options
    Did you set a percentage for the carb goals or in grams? If it was in grams and you didn't increase the grams of fat and protein accordingly then that is why.
  • kimny72
    kimny72 Posts: 16,013 Member
    Options
    Your question isn't clear, but I think your answers are in the previous replies:

You have to set your carbs to at least 5%, mfp won't let you choose zero, and if you reduce carbs you have to increase one or both oft he other two macros or mfp won't let you save your changes. Carb% + Protein% + Fat% has to equal 100.

If you want to reduce carbs, that's fine, but calories are what determine if you gain or lose weight. You want to eat enough so that your body is properly fueled, but less than your body burns. So you want to hit the calorie goal mfp gave you.

If we're not answering the question, please come back and clarify! And good luck :drinker:
  • jgnatca
    jgnatca Posts: 14,464 Member
    Options
    Increase the percentage of fat and protein until you hit your daily minimum calorie requirement.
  • collectingblues
    collectingblues Posts: 2,541 Member
    edited March 2018
    Options
    Agreeing with Rhedd, with the caveat of "your diabetes may vary". I'm fairly insulin sensitive (about half a unit per kilo, which is what you expect to see in kids), but part of that is that I largely try to stay under 150 or 175 carbs, with the exception of race days and special events.