Poor deadlifting hands

Options

Replies

• BNY721
    BNY721 Posts: 125 Member
    Options
    fb47 wrote: »
    Heaviest ever at 30kg..please don't laugh :D

Felt great but hard on the hands, what are straps used for or should I go for gloves?

I prefer hook grip (hence my profile picture), but it's not easy to master it, because it usually *kitten* hurts in the first 2-3 weeks (people initially give up on them because of the pain), but once your thumb gets used to the pain, it becomes easier and straps becomes obsolete. If pain scares you, you can go for gloves or straps....I prefer that old school method.

A friend of mine powerlifts and gave me this pointer the other day..she said it takes time to get used to but I am finding it is helping me and I hope to no longer rely on mixed-grip and chalk.
  • EmbeeKay
    EmbeeKay Posts: 249 Member
    Options
    Hey! I can relate. The longer you do it, your grip will improve. Keep at it. I started lifting a year ago with similar weight and now my grip is significantly stronger. Good luck!
  • TR0berts
    TR0berts Posts: 7,739 Member
    Options
    cityruss wrote: »
    Lean59man wrote: »
    There's no law against using straps. Straps are useful at times.

Deadlifts are not one of them IMO.

Hanging on to the bar is a key element of the deadlift. Your grip will not develop using straps.

Using assistance equipment does allow you to lift more weight but what does it mean if you can't lift the weight without wearing the equipment? What is the reality of benching 200lbs more by wearing a bench shirt?

What is the reality of deadlifting 500lbs if you have to wear straps to do it? The reality is you can't lift it.