C25K advice?

Options
Hello all you wonderful fit people.

I've recently developed an interest in learning how to run/jog so I've decided to have a crack at the C25K app.

(Previously I would just go for long walks and then jog at sporadic intervals until I had to stop - which didn't take very long lol).

I feel like having something with a set plan would be pretty beneficial in order to try and improve hence trying this app.

I can see there's only 3 days of training per week. Should I be sticking to this or is it okay to do more? Do i need to have rest days in between? Can I go for walks on those rest days?

Is it okay if I also add an additional 10 minute jog at the end of each workout? The route that I take just means I have a bit more walking to do at the end and there's a track that I like to run through.

Clearly I'm a total noob - I need all the advice I can get. Pls halp!

Replies

• TavistockToad
    TavistockToad Posts: 35,719 Member
    Options
    stick to the plan as is. if you find that w1d1 is too easy, advance a week. don't add extra running time to the plan, or its not following the plan.

walking on rest days is fine.
  • RuNaRoUnDaFiEld
    RuNaRoUnDaFiEld Posts: 5,864 Member
    Options
    Stick to the plan, it is designed to stop you getting injured.

Cardio wise you'll feel like you can do more but your connective tissues and muscles need time to adapt.
  • stephieleee
    stephieleee Posts: 113 Member
    Options
    stick to the plan as is. if you find that w1d1 is too easy, advance a week. don't add extra running time to the plan, or its not following the plan.

So is the plan to do one day on then one day off? It's not very specific on the app. Just that I have 3 days to do this week.
  • Don_WM_
    Don_WM_ Posts: 262 Member
    Options