Sugar and Cancer

Options
vm007
vm007 Posts: 241 Member
Hi,

Opportunity for me to learn more from you all.

I was watching a documentary on Amazon called "Magic pill" which promotes ketogenic diet. As it went on, a woman came on and talked about how she killed her Cancer by doing ketogenic diet and was recommending that everyone can do so by eating keto diet.

Now since I have zero knowledge about this line of work and for me, I use CICO and when I'm feeling fancy I make sure my protein and fiber levels are good.

So what's up with this? They also talked about "flawed" model known as "energy in and energy out".

I understand that some like specific diets but when did CICO become irrelevant when it came to weight loss? I understand CICO needs to be adjusted for nutrition as in if you eat only Carbs it'll be bad because you won't meet your nutrition requirement but for weight loss and gain, why do they keep harping on about this being wrong? Do they know something I don't?

Thanks in advance. I'm here to learn so if I'm wrong I'd be happy to learn but for me CICO has worked wonderfully.

Replies

• nvmomketo
    nvmomketo Posts: 12,019 Member
    Options
    nvmomketo wrote: »
    Low sugar diets can help with treating some cancers such as brain cancer and some others. There are some cancers that use fats as a fuel very well, and although those are not a majority, you would want to know your cancer before adjusting your diet to treat it. It can also be complementary to more common cancer treatments such as radiation and chemo, and helps reduce cancer cachexia.

It is thought that limiting or avoiding refined carbohydrates may help with cancer prevention but that is not well researched or proven.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3267662/

About all they have shown so far is that the low fat diet of yesteryear does not seem to help prevent CVD or cancer, at least in the types that they looked at.