Losing weight, obese male

I'm completely new to exercising/losing weight/tracking calories.

My question is, how does one lose weight when, I keep hearing this (you have to burn more than what you eat in calories), I can hardly exercise due from not ever exercising/being big?

I might be stupid about it, but since I've never cared about my health I just don't know anything.

I can only walk/walk briskly on a treadmil for around 40 minutes and I've been suggested by my Dr. to eat around 3000 calores (which still seems like a lot to me? I clock in around 1300-1500 when I track what I eat in the app).

Walking on a treadmill 7 days a week only burns like around 200 something calories... I think?

I hope this isn't a dumb question. I just really wanna know.

Replies

• L1zardQueen
    L1zardQueen Posts: 8,754 Member
    Not dumb, welcome to MFP. Listen to your doctor. Read the stickies at the top of “GettingStarted” forums. <3
  • kimny72
    kimny72 Posts: 16,023 Member
    edited April 2018
    BuzzPixie wrote: »

My question is, how does one lose weight when, I keep hearing this (you have to burn more than what you eat in calories), I can hardly exercise due from not ever exercising/being big?

I might be stupid about it, but since I've never cared about my health I just don't know anything.

I can only walk/walk briskly on a treadmil for around 40 minutes and I've been suggested by my Dr. to eat around 3000 calores (which still seems like a lot to me? I clock in around 1300-1500 when I track what I eat in the app).

Walking on a treadmill 7 days a week only burns like around 200 something calories... I think?

Your body is burning calories all day, even while you sleep. Beating your heart, breathing, digesting food, walking to the front door, etc.