Help with TDEE

Options
elothen
elothen Posts: 155 Member
So this TDEE thing is driving me a little nuts. 4 different calculators give me a WIDE range of calories per day. I'm sure it comes down to how they factor in the activity. I read the descriptions and tried to select the best option that matches me but still came up with a pretty broad range. Here it is.

Weight: 210 lbs
Height: 6'4"

https://tdeecalculator.net/
Moderate Exercise 3-5 days/week
3,060 calories per day

https://damnripped.com/tdee-calculator/
Daily Activity: Lightly Active
Exercise: Moderate
2,868 calories per day

https://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/calculate-your-total-daily-energy-expenditure-tdee.html
Lightly active (moderate exercise but sedentary job)
2,171 calories per day

https://healthyeater.com/important-tool-weight-loss
Light activity
2,717 calories per day

Min: 2,171
Max: 3,060
Avg: 2,704

Now I'm a programmer/sys admin so although it's a desk job I really am on my feet alot. Enough that I wear tennis shoes rather than dress shoes. Activity wise I play competitive indoor soccer 2 nights a week and hit the gym 4 days (only rest day is Sat). At the gym I take around 60 seconds between sets and maybe 2-3 minutes between exercises with just a brief 5 min eliptical warm up. At this stage of the game (first week back to gym) my number 1 priority is injury prevention so I it's reasonable weight, focus on form, slow and steady.

I don't care what the number is. At this point food is just a tool. I'm just confused with how much exactly I should be eating. I'm afraid I'm undereating. Goal wise I'm looking for a slow, lean bulk/recomp. Not in any particular rush. I don't want to waste time but I think with my shoulder issues and inexperience going for a hard bulk then cut routine would be too risky.

What are your thoughts?
Thanks!

Replies

• RoxieDawn
    RoxieDawn Posts: 15,488 Member
    edited May 2018
    Options