Doctor's note for a standing desk?

2»

Replies

• AmandaEdwards1
    AmandaEdwards1 Posts: 46 Member
    i work in HR- keep in mind that many, not all, ask for a normal desk after awhile bc the standing is a bit much.

just take walks on your breaks and get up and move regularly.
  • AwesomeOpossum74
    AwesomeOpossum74 Posts: 106 Member
    I work in the healthcare industry, but my position has me at a desk all day. They were very cool, and bought everyone in the department stand-up desks a few years ago. I alternately use mine in the up position probably 50% during a day, and can certainly feel the difference from sitting all day. I attribute it mostly to the difference in blood flow between sitting and standing, and I understand that standing does burn more calories, even if only a nominal amount.

After having gotten my desk, I find myself standing more during "inactive" time at home, such as playing video games or watching TV ... or annoying my wife. I have to admit, I'm probably standing when annoying my wife for the faster escape benefits!

In any case, I vote, heck yes, you should do whatever you need to get one. The net benefits are definitely positive.
  • CSARdiver
    CSARdiver Posts: 6,252 Member
    I bought two for my team a year ago. They are a nice gimmick, but I haven't seen them used in months.

I have a fitbit Flex 2 and it reminds me when I don't get 250 steps in an hour. I just get up and walk around the building every hour.
  • cwolfman13
    cwolfman13 Posts: 41,876 Member
    jjpptt2 wrote: »
    Just buy your own.

Though, I'm not sure how/why standing is inherently better than sitting.

I looked into this awhile back because I was thinking about getting a standing desk. Essentially, you're exchanging one set of risks for another and essentially, you're still sedentary...just not sitting.