I suck at eating healthy! Any tips? :P

Options

Replies

• yirara
    yirara Posts: 9,512 Member
    Options
    Hey mate, I'm a mad scientist as well. Very uncreative usually when it comes to non-sciency things. But I learned to like cooking. I treat it like an experiment: what happens if I follow this recipe: will I get something edible out or not? Ok, lets change some ingredients next time, etc. I don't cook every day, but usually spend about 20-30 minutes cooking one evening, and then I have enough food that I can simply warm up for one or two more days. It works, my groceries bill is low, and I get lots of fresh produce.
  • Millicent3015
    Millicent3015 Posts: 374 Member
    Options
    There are now larger ranges of healthier frozen/chilled meals if you have a big enough fridge or freezer. Add extra vegetables yourself because the veg portions of ready meals are always ridiculously tiny. A lot of kids' ready meals are healthier and the smaller portions are the size we adults used to eat 40 or 50 years ago. Again, bulk them up with veg (fresh, frozen or tinned). Tinned fruit in juice, not syrup, is also fine. I wouldn't recommend ready meals every day, but if you don't like cooking or don't have the time they can be a useful addition as long as you check that the calorie/fat/carb content fits your particular dietary requirements.
  • middlehaitch
    middlehaitch Posts: 8,485 Member
    Options
    Heck, I was just thinking what @yirara said, turn your kitchen into a lab.

I love curries, from any country, and middle eastern spices so have a drawer full of small bottles full of magic.

Start by following recipes, then branch out to emphasize the flavours you like.

Plain old cooking is something I do; getting out spices, grinding them, piling them in colourful little cones, then blending and frying them off to concoct a toothsome meal is mad artist work for me, mad scientist for you.