Weighing cooked & frozen meat?

Options
kiela64
kiela64 Posts: 1,447 Member
Hey so I live at home and consequently I don’t cook all my own food. I know meat is most accurately weighed raw, but sometimes i just fish in the freezer for something and pull out some frozen chicken or a hamburger and I don’t know what they weighed before cooked & frozen.

I’ve also had the issue of my mom swearing that the burger was 4oz raw (without anyone measuring or weighing it) and weighing the cooked one before eating and it’s 2oz on the dot. Is that equivalent? It seems odd to me.

I also don’t know what version of “cooked” to use, like there are a lot of different entries for the nutritional info of cooked chicken breast, thigh, hamburger etc. I know the cut of the meat that was bought but some of these are like brand names?

Any suggestions appreciated! I’m new to using a food scale and I don’t think it works if I don’t know what I’m measuring properly.

Replies

• livingleanlivingclean
    livingleanlivingclean Posts: 11,752 Member
    Options
    I portion out a lot of my meat before putting it in the freezer. Freezing doesn't change the weight, so you could weigh frozen and just use that.

I prefer not to use cooked weight as it can be affected by cooking method and time. If I crucify a steak and cook it well done, it will weigh a lot less than a steak of the same raw weight cooked rare. The calories will be the same though!
  • kiela64
    Options
    I portion out a lot of my meat before putting it in the freezer. Freezing doesn't change the weight, so you could weigh frozen and just use that.

I prefer not to use cooked weight as it can be affected by cooking method and time. If I crucify a steak and cook it well done, it will weigh a lot less than a steak of the same raw weight cooked rare. The calories will be the same though!