College student meal plan

Options
So I am a college student who’s trying to lose 50 pounds. Unfortunately this means I don’t have a fridge to store food during the day or a microwave to heat up my food, like most packed lunches require. I also have the problem of not having money to buy a lot of expensive healthy foods. What sort of breakfasts and lunches do you guys think would be a good idea?

Replies

• sportychic87
    sportychic87 Posts: 214 Member
    edited August 2018
    Options
    Low calorie bread, jam and/peanut butter (to cut calories you would want to use little peanut butter). This shouldn’t require a fridge.
    Bananas, apples, tomatoes and carrots can all sit out on a counter.
    Nuts are good, albeit a bit pricey, but remember that a serving size is much smaller than what most people think.

Canned foods are an option too. Chicken soup isn’t too bad unheated. Most canned foods are ready to eat.
    Natural food stores often have bulk items like nuts, this could make it more affordable for you as you can purchase the amount you need.

Granola bars are good and a lot of meal shakes are shelf stable (I love the special k chocolate shakes).

Do you live in a dorm? Or shared apt?
  • kommodevaran
    kommodevaran Posts: 17,890 Member
    Options
    Do you have access to some kitchen facilities where you live? Not having money to buy a lot of healthy expensive food isn't a real problem. Buy cheap foods and ingredients and make meals that appeal to you. Simple or elaborate, it's up to you. Eggs, porridges, sandwiches, it's all great food.
  • mariluny
    mariluny Posts: 428 Member
    Options
    Beans and legumes keeps well without being refrigerated and are quite filling. They are also cheap pretty much everywhere! Look up chickpea salad (it’s basically a mock chicken salad) and you can have sandwiches for very very cheap.

If you don’t have a microwave, thermos can be a good options for you to eat leftovers.