Anyone else in the medical field? Support and motivation nee

Options
Anyone else in the medical field? Support and motivation needed, STAT!

Hi you guys. I'm a nurse and as all of you in the medical field know first hand, we never have time to eat a normal healthy meal, our days and nights can be, and usually are a bit insane. By the time we get off we are too tired to even think out going to the gym.

How do you keep yourself motivated? I don't know about the rest of you but I could sure use some extra support and motivation so please feel free to add me as a friend. Lets help each other out so that we can not only become healthy, but be good examples for our patients too.

Ideas? Add them below.

Replies

• woja9640
    woja9640 Posts: 450 Member
    Options
    I'm a front office medical assistant so I know about time. However, I am lucky enough to have a job in an office where they make sure everyone has a full hour off for lunch from 12pm to 1pm. About eatting, I make sure to either pack a lunch, go to a sandwich shop or Taco Bell.
  • IOWAlapbanderette
    IOWAlapbanderette Posts: 74 Member
    Options
    *waving*
    I'm an ER nurse so I know exactly what you are talking about! it's all about eating when you can, and as fast as you can..

so here's what I do..
    I take a protein drink to work , that has 23 grams of protein, and sip on it as the night goes..it helps keep the cravings down. Mine is 129 calories, is chocolate and it hits the spot!!
    I try and pack snacky stuff that is GOOD for me..that is flavorful and fills me up..I keep a bag of lettuce and a can of chicken with me in the fridge for when I have the time to eat, that and a little fat free ranch and I'm a HAPPY RN!!
  • VaBchNurse
    Options
    Thanks ladies. Hopefully we can help each other out.
  • jbug100
    jbug100 Posts: 406 Member
    Options