Welcome to Debate Club! Please be aware that this is a space for respectful debate, and that your ideas will be challenged here. Please remember to critique the argument, not the author.

No intimidation "gyms"

Replies

• Odd_Equestrian
    Odd_Equestrian Posts: 43 Member
    As someone who has severe social anxiety and body dysmorphia, places like PF are great...I could go there and not be afraid of anyone or be eaten up by a trainer looking to make a buck. I just got in at 10 pm when no one was there, kept my head down, and basically ran out after an hour every time I went. The cost was also nice in college because I could actually afford it. I no longer go just because I graduated and got a job and now we have our own equipment at home so I don't have to go out at all.

If you are looking for a certain atmosphere, I would say just go find a more serious gym...I don't get why it is labeled as"BS"

I have social anxiety too, but I have to tell you... that stuff like predatory trainers or having to be afraid of people just doesn't happen at gyms. Honestly, creepy people can be anywhere, and my only creepy person in a gym experience was at a Planet Fitness, ironically.

This is why I find their marketing to be so horrible. It reinforces the fear people have. Now don't get me wrong, I'm also not a fan of people looking down on places like PF either. There's a difference between the facility and the marketing.

I went to a gym before I tried PF and I got bugged so much :( maybe it was just bad luck? Seriously every time I went I got bothered by a trainer or another guy asking me stuff.
  • Odd_Equestrian
    Odd_Equestrian Posts: 43 Member
    I've never had anyone comment on my workout at the gym, nor has anyone offered any advice, and certainly no one there intimidates me with their workout or fitness level. I put my earbuds in, turn on my music and do my thing. Not a difficult thing to do at any gym.