Barbelling-solo?

Options
I have a weird question.

So I'm kinda new to strength training. I've been fit and athletic my whole life but I'm more into dancing and cardio than lifting weight. Anyway, I just recently discovered the wonders of strength training and shaping. For the most part I'm okay with dumbbells, kettles and machines but the barbell is a little weird for me.

Because I train very early in the morning usually there are no trainers around so I can't ask for help. When I'm lying on my back on the bench and pushing the barbell away from me I always worry it would fall on me. I go maximum 30kg and it's more than enough for me at this point.

Anyway what I do is I fold my knees and keep them folded while I press the barbell. I feel safer that way cuz when I'm tired I put the barbell on my knees or shins to take a break. This caused a few stares from people cuz I am aware I look really awkward doing it. Frankly I don't care as long as I'm feeling safe but I'm wondering if this position ruins the whole exercise point? Cuz I remember seeing a video where the trainer said my feet must be on the floor so I push properly. To be honest my feet doesn't even reach the floor properly (I'm kinda petite). Only my toes reach the floor so it's not that important, is it?

Replies

• jemhh
    jemhh Posts: 14,261 Member
    Options
    Put plates on either side of the bench and put your feet on them. Resting the bar on your legs like that is not safe.
  • shor0814
    shor0814 Posts: 559 Member
    Options
    Feet on the floor (flat or tip toes), butt on the bench, head on the bench, and shoulders retracted is correct for a "strength training" bench press that includes leg drive. There are variants that you see where the legs are bent and placed on the bench bit this position takes away any leg drive.