Is the calorie goal accurate?

Options
Hi fellow motivated people! I used this app a few years ago and then fell off the wagon. Now I’m back again to get back in shape. I inputted my data: height 5ft8, weight 151lbs, age 36 and my goal is to lose 1.5lbs a week. I’m told I’m to eat 1270 calories per day to achieve this. I’m not an expert in any way, but that seems a little low. I’m not hungry or anything but I want to do this safely and in a way that’s sustainable. What do you think?

Replies

• Panini911
    Panini911 Posts: 2,325 Member
    Options
    i would recommend putting a rate of loss closer to .5 or 1lb/a week given you stats. you don't have much too lose so slow is safer. you also likely selected sedentary?

remember to eat back your exercise calories.

• kami3006
    kami3006 Posts: 4,978 Member
    Options
    overeater1 wrote: »
    Hi fellow motivated people! I used this app a few years ago and then fell off the wagon. Now I’m back again to get back in shape. I inputted my data: height 5ft8, weight 151lbs, age 36 and my goal is to lose 1.5lbs a week. I’m told I’m to eat 1270 calories per day to achieve this. I’m not an expert in any way, but that seems a little low. I’m not hungry or anything but I want to do this safely and in a way that’s sustainable. What do you think?

As you're already within a healthy weight range, your rate of loss should be smaller... 1/2 to one pound per week at most. Plus, you add in and eat your exercise calories. 1270 is low because of the rate of loss you chose and depending on your daily activity level.
  • kimny72
    kimny72 Posts: 16,013 Member
    Options

You don't have enough weight to lose to warrant losing as quickly as 1.5lbs per week, that's why the goal is so low. I would think the highest you should do is 1 lb per week, and honestly since you are already at a healthy weight, 0.5lbs might be the best goal (though not everyone is patient enough for that.