Weight Machine Etiquette

(I did search for about 10 minutes to see if this was answered, I'm sure it has been, but I could not find the needle in the haystack)

As part of my overall routine my trainer suggested ab focused 3 machines. 3 sets of 15-20 reps. So, machine 1 - do reps, machine 2 - do reps, machine 3 - do rep, repeat. But what if someone else is doing all their sets at once(minimal time between) on machine "2" in my set? Should I just go back to what's available out of order? Standing there like a fool was not a fun feeling. I'm a complete newbie and feel lost!

Replies

• rcreynol3090
    rcreynol3090 Posts: 174 Member
    If someone is on a machine I need, I'll just move to a different machine until the first is freed up. My former trainer said there's no rule that requires a set order.
  • Stockholm_Andy
    Stockholm_Andy Posts: 803 Member
    Yeah, the person super-setting (what you're doing) will have to defer to the person who isn't. You can ask to work in while they rest. Most veteran gym goers are totally cool with that, especially on machines where it's easy to reset the weight.

^Yes this.

Also there really isn't a reason to be them as a superset IMHO. It would make no difference to do 3 sets on each machine.
  • Motorsheen
    Motorsheen Posts: 20,493 Member
    Yeah, the person super-setting (what you're doing) will have to defer to the person who isn't. You can ask to work in while they rest. Most veteran gym goers are totally cool with that, especially on machines where it's easy to reset the weight.

a third vote for this.

working-in should be an option, especially on a machine where you're just moving a pin or adjusting a seat position.

best of luck!
  • Theoldguy1
    Theoldguy1 Posts: 2,427 Member

I agree.

I hope the trainer has the OP doing some core work without the machines (unless she has some restrictions). The support the machine provides eliminates a good bit of the benefits of core work.
  • shinycrazy