MCT Oils

Options
New to Keto and looking for feedback regarding MCT oils. Is it worth it? I tried it for 2 days, and on day 2 I got all the side effects that were noted on the bottle. The directions state to start with one tablespoon and gradually 2 tablespoons. I started with the 1 tbsp was that too much??? Thoughts?

Replies

• Hulbert0089
    Hulbert0089 Posts: 97 Member
    Options
    I bought a bottle a while back and didn't notice much if anything. Eventually didn't feel like consuming 250 calories for 2 TBS daily.
  • marissacarman
    marissacarman Posts: 1 Member
    Options
    I am new to fasting and also to MCT oil but I will share my experience with you. First off make sure your MCT oil only is made with coconut oil and doesn't have any other added ingredients or derived from something other then coconut oil. Second you should start at 1 tsp not one 1bsp as I was told then you will have the increased side effects. I did 1tsp for 2 days then 2 tsp for 2 more days and by day 5 i was up to 1tbsp which is where i will stay. Like I said i am still relatively new however this worked great for me and no side effects other then not being hungry for my 16 hour fast. Hope this helps!
  • JeromeBarry1
    JeromeBarry1 Posts: 10,182 Member
    Options
    I bought a pint of expensive MCT oil Saturday only because a jar of expensive keto creamer was not available.
    I am not presently suffering from Alzheimer's so I have no clear reason to extoll the benefits of MCT oil. I was unfamiliar with the texture of such oil in my coffee and did not approve of 15 g MCT with 15g heavy cream in coffee yesterday. Today I tried it with 10 g MCT and 15 g heavy cream. That was better.